Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

Books have always served as memories of our species, and we have kept them generally enclosed places for protection. Furthermore, the building library concept is fairly old compared to human existence. In particular, some people argue that; in our modern world, computer systems changed the library concept, so building libraries are old fashion and a waste of money any more. From my perspective, this argument is partially true, because computers and AI are more convenient and affordable for citizens. On the other hand, they are not totally useless, have just changed their main roles and students are using them as peaceful study workplaces anymore. On one hand, until the late 1990s libraries served as our common data centre and memories of mankind. They are quieter and variety of printed or written materials they keep, so every person who is involved in an academic study or research, always uses this peaceful building as a workplace. For example, a Purdue University research conducted in 2019 reveals that, until the late 2000’s 69% of student were using libraries as prime workplaces for their research or studies. So this data emphasises the importance of libraries being and meaning for the community. On the other hand, the same research also gives significant data that, after 2005, online libraries surged significantly and their existence turned over the dominancy, now there are multiple times fold online libraries than solid library buildings. For example,in 2024, a Google report obviously declared that, only in 2023, two times many online libraries opened as real-life libraries. So, this is about convenience and affordability, and expresses the new generation's trends also. In conclusion, libraries have always served as a human common consciousness, since the first existence of our species. In contrast, they are living in the present, but changed their serving format. On the other hand, the rise of AI could bring new transformed varieties of libraries.