Many aspects of the way people dress today are influenced by global fashion trends. How has global fashion become such a strong influence on people’s lives? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is widely observed that global fashion companies have a huge influence on consumers all over the world. How has it been possible for them to own such a massive power compared to the past? I will examine several reasons as well as argue my opinion for this trend. It would not have been possible if there were not any help of technologies, including mobile devices such as smartphones or tablets. They continuously expose users to the advertisements of fashion businesses. As a result, people can know what kinds of fashion items are favored by others without any efforts. Moreover, it became so convenient to buy products online, making it easy for people to purchase ones that are constantly advertised on social media. Throughout this process, the companies are now shaping global trends without boarders. However, I strongly argue this cannot be considered positive because of several reasons. First of all, excessive advertisements strengthen the consumerism, which induces individuals to spend money on clothing extravagantly. Unfortunately, this frivolous spending does not end with empty wallets. It is now accused of being the main cause of abandoned garments, which threatens developing nations. The fabric wastes are imported to those countries, contaminating the land as well as making citizens and livestock sick. Considering this, I believe industries have to be more responsible for this global hazard and should be restricted to have a limited influence. In conclusion, people should be enlightened by the reality of global fashion trends even though they may help to be more fashionable than others. For sustainability, I reckon the public and industries related to fashion should have more responsibilities for the good of our planet.