Some people believe that criminal behaviour has genetic causes. Others believe that it is circumstances that lead people to commit a crime. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is widely argued that genetics affect criminal behaviour, while others think that specific life situations lead to a crime commitment. In my opinion, person’s criminal activity strongly depends on their genetic code, but there are other factors that can influence to that. On the one hand, individual’s background plays pivotal role in criminal behaviour. Genetics control most of the process in human body and it includes cognitive functions. If parents or relatives committed a crime, it is most likely, that this person would be a criminal too. For example, researchers from Colorado University have found that 67 percent of children with criminal parents are becoming lawbreaker too. Therefore, people’s criminal behaviour strongly depends on their genetic information. On the other hand, individual’s life experiences play crucial part in mind-shaping. Every single person goes through different challenges and some of them might be hard to overcome. When somebody placed in complex circumstances, they usually find themselves unable to escape and in need to commit a crime. For instance, in ungrateful areas of New York, young men often need to rob or steal to survive, only in one month the number of crimes committed could be higher than two thousand. Thus, crime rates are affected by peoples' surroundings. In conclusion, villainy are usually associated with genome, however it is important to take into account that it is not only reason for wrongdoing, wrong environment and hard times can contribute to that.