The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extent do you agree or disagree?

The most effective method to make roads safer is to make the punishments for driving offences stricter. Even though some people definitely agree with the given opinion, others may absolutely disagree with it. Firstly, one clear example of why society could agree with this is that the stricter punishments will lower the motivation for reckless driving. Therefore, when people know the causes for their actions, they might think twice before doing it. Secondly, i believe that if the penalty for breaking the roads gets higher, then these reckless drivers, at some point, will not afford to pay them anymore, therefore they will stay off the roads. However, this statement is not always true, because, by making the laws for breaking the rules stricter, it can reduce the accidents, but it is not the only way to improve the safety. To illustrate, by spreading the awareness of the deaths and injuries that reckless driving has led to, drivers might take the advice more privately, hence, their attitude will also change. In conclusion, while making the punishment for reckless driving is effective, because it lowers the motivation to break the rules, it might not be the best way to achieve safer roads and get the drivers' attention on why exactly their driving habits need to be safer.