Handwriting skills (using a pencil, a pen or a brush) are on decline. What can be the reasons for this? Is it a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, Handwriting is at the verge of extinction. The change is impacted by various factors which will be discussed further in this essay. In addition, this essay will also imply why it is a negative development in my opinion. The reason for decline in handwriting skill is extensive usage of gadgets. This is because majority of the work is operated on computers in offices, and academic institutins have started incorporting technology such as use of laptops or tablets for learning. For example, universities have started online assessment for students. As a result, the adoption of written based work has reduced significantly. Moreover, these modern devices are more compact and multipurpose. For instance, carrying a mobile to classroom can help students note down points quickly, and also record a video during practicals. Therefore, such devices can provide varied benefits to individuals. While using devices and modern technology has replaced the traditional method of writing texts on notebook, this changing trend cannot be viewed as positive change. Firstly, handwriting is a unique skill gained by the human. It requires specific abilties and motor capabilities to master this skill, which cannot be attained by other species making it rare. Consequently, if individuals stop practicing it, they will lose a crucial skill which differentiates them from other animals. Moreover, it is an art that can be utilised as career option in order to earn money.If an individual has excellent handwriting skills, he /she can use it to create a small business out it such as poster making or caligraphy. To conclude, the most signficant component that contributes to the declining trend of writing skill is technology and benefits derived from it such as easier accessibility, distinct functionality and convenient storage. However, this development of decreased handwriting usage is disadvantageous, as humans will be deviod of a unique capability. Morover, this skill can be beneficial from an economic perspective.