Nowadays, children and teenagers spend a large amount of their time indoors. Why is this happening? What can be done about it?

Nowadays, children and teenagers are spending a large amount of their time indoors. In my opinion, the main reason for this is online entertainment, as it provides an easy way for dealing with boredom, and a good solution would be to find an alternative that encourages students spend time outdoors. I believe that the causes of this problem is a large use of gadgets, social media and games. Almost everybody has a phone that provides easy access to social media. When people feel bored, this is one of the quickest solutions that requires no effort. Additionally, many apps are designed in a way that encourages individuals to use it as much as possible, which means that students with bad time -management skills waste a lot of time on digital entertainment instead of doing activities outside. Moreover, social media allows virtual communication, reducing the need in real-life meetings. I think that the best way of addressing this issue is organizing social events, because they are an interesting alternative to online entertainment. It is not only a good solution for boredom, but also satisfies teenager’s needs in spending time outdoors and socializing in person. Furthermore, parents and teachers should explain children the importance of having offline friends and benefits of spending time outdoors, as it could lead to positive changes in their behavior. In conclusion, spending too much time indoors is a serious problem among young people, which, in my opinion, is caused mostly by social media, games and other digital entertainment. However, it can be reduced by organizing events that would motivate children spend time outside and explaining them the importance of this.