Some believe that cosmetic procedures and plastic surgery should be banned as they pose health risks, while others argue they should be allowed. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Of late, cosmetic procedures and plastic surgery has gained a growing popularity among people. However, opinions remain sharply divided regarding the need for it in the society. While a few individuals opine that these areas of science must not be allowed due to their potential detrimental effects on health, others favour their existence. The following essay outlines both these views before discussing my opinion on it. To begin with, both cosmetology and plastic sugery pose potential health risks. In explanation, every invasive procedures has a number of adverse reactions associated with it. For instance, there has been an increasing incidence of scalp infections following hair transplant procedures in Kerala, a state of India, in the last year. The reason is attributed to a breach in aseptic precautions. Furthermore, bariatic surgeries for obesity is a high risk procedure, which is even a threat to human life. Hence, well-being of an individual is endangered in these procedures. On the other hand, proponents of these medicinal branches argue that they must be allowed, owing to their need in the healthcare system. Plastic surgery is an important pillar of multidisciplinary patient care, escpecially in emergency and critical care departments. For example, surgical interventions in road traffic accident and burn cases often require the expertise of a plastic surgeon. In addition, being aestetically appealing is a personal choice which cannot be interfered by a third party. In my opinion, advanced scientific areas, such as cosmetology and plastic surgery, can never be swiped off completely. They are essential for public health mandate. Considering the fact that they are a potential risk to life, procedures should be properly regulated to reduce their downside. Ensuring a complete health risk assessment before any such procedures can help to curate a patient-centred treatment plan, ultimately resulting in lowered rate of adverse effects. In conclusion, through strategic health risk analysis and patient-centred health amenities, the individual well-being can be ensured. Thus, cosmetic and plastic surgical procedures need to regulated to prevent health risks.