some people think that the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree? agree: - raising price helps people reduce overuse - limiting depletion of natural fuels disagree: - There are better ways like using energy from the sun, water

The debate on providing energy for humans has been a long discourse among experts. Some academics agree that a high rate will reduce human energy consumption, which consequently restricts to get fuel from environmental exploitation. On the contrary, many others disagree with that notion and prefer to develop renewable energy. I think the latter has a positive paradigm and prolongs the age of our mother earth. First, based on the opinion of mining engineers and economic experts, financial efforts to punish people, by raising fuel prices, are more effective. Consequently, community will avoid using their own vehicle, and they will turn to public transport. It results in the reduction of energy consumption, including natural mining exploration, such as coal and crude oil. However, this policy will, most likely, affect the poor, because only rich citizens that still can afford. Furthermore, it raises social problems, called classism, among citizens, which segregates public into two opposite poles, based on their economic capacity to earn. Meanwhile, some other persons, especially those who are based on environmental and climate justice activism, put their voice in sustainable energy, such as the sun and water. This energy will not extinct, unlike fossil energy that will not last forever. Furthermore, the energy sources are abundant and can be renewed along the law of nature. Solar energy, for instance, come from the sun that shines every day. While, another example, such as water, offers a lot of resources, since two-thirds of our earth is ocean. In conclusion, based on my observation, I think developing renewable energy is positive, compared to raising fuel prices for the people. Furthermore, achieving the production of renewable energy is more visible and will save our environment. Indeed, a financial approach to reduce energy use can be attained, but it will create another social problem, called social segregation.