The rapid growth of technology has led to privacy and security issues. What are the problems, and how can they be solved?

In recent years, technology has been growing exponentially. Despite being a beneficial tool in everyday life, technology is portrayed as a double-edged sword due to the rising concerns regarding its intrusion into privacy and security. Digital divide and increasing cyber crimes can be attributed as the major reasons to this. This essay discusses these reasons in detail and viable measures to restore cyber security. One of the key reasons for violation of personal data and security is the existence of digital divide in society - a visible separation among the tech-savvy and the tech-illiterate. Consequently, a technically up-to-date individual can easily lure a technically ignorant person into his trap. For instance, there has been an increased number of online frauds, especially against the elderly, where they are falling into financial scams as they are behind the times. Furthermore, a significant surge can be noticed in the rate of cyber crimes being reported annually. With the development of cutting-edge technologies, the number of technological prodigies are also climbing simultaneously. However, not all of them are ethically driven. Many of them drift into short cuts and ultimately, practice criminal activities. The digital expliotation can be prevented by formulating strict regulations and ensuring continuous surveillance by the government. A special executive branch can be made in charge to deal with cyber crimes, which in turn can lower the incidence of cyber crimes. Meanwhile, individuals can protect their data by enhancing their data security through features such as password protection. For example, Whatsapp has enabled a double-password encryption to protect their users data. Similarly, people can change their passwords frequently to strengthen their privacy. In conclusion, though privacy and security can be at stake with technical advancements, these issues can be mitigated through establishing stringent laws and cyber security infrastructure by the government. In addition, by creating a state-of-the-art society, who are digitally cautious, can limit individual exploitation.