Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore, every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge.

The discourse surrounding whether every house should have a free clean water supply has generated a significant amount of discussion. I agree that access to sanitary water is a fundamental right for all, as unclean water is a common source of transmittable illnesses, which may result in excessive healthcare bills. Having individuals pay for a clean water supply translates to putting individuals’ health at stake, as unsanitary water is one of the primary causes of many prevalent diseases worldwide, particularly amongst low-income people. For instance, cholera, a deadly, infectious diarrhea caused by the bacteria V. Cholerae, is just one of the many examples of serious illnesses that can be transmitted through consuming food and beverages made with unclean liquid. Ultimately, the prevalent cases of transmitted diseases result in a list of problems, such as increased mortality and morbidity. I contend that making people pay for such a basic need is unjust, as everyone, regardless of their financial backgrounds, should have equal rights to live a healthy life. On top of that, charging people to get a water supply is an ineffective way for a government to obtain money. With the rise of medical concerns due to the issue in question, authorities will eventually have to pay for the consequences that emerge because of the policy they create. Consider that hospital bills for one person hospitalised due to a bowel infection is at least a hundred dollar bill. Imagine if this transmittable infection becomes prevalent; ultimately, the burden of medical costs may subsequently impact a country’s economic stability. I believe this policy has countless detrimental effects on both people without the privilege to purchase water and official authorities. In conclusion, I contend that access to sanitary water is a right for everyone, regardless of their financial situations. Not having access to clean water may cause numerous illnesses and eventually lead to a resurgence in medical costs.