Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The issue of the growing number of unhealthy people who tend to use alternative therapy and medicine instead of seeking formal treatment has sparked interest in modern society. I firmly believe that is a negative development, stimulating financial burden and deteriorating health problems. One compelling argument is that alternative therapy lacks a standard and secure provement. Specifically, if people consistently prevent formal medical treatment rather than use unguaranteed therapy, they cannot access accurate treatments and even suffer from worse health conditions. Moreover, alternative therapy not only leads to no effect consequences but also causes the issue of missing the early treatment. Urgent physical issues cannot be procrastinated, taking treatment of Cancer for a representative example, some people have a preference to accept conventional medical therapy such as Chinese medicine which is not suitable for every health problem, contributing to an irreversible health situation. Another key factor is that most informal therapy generates a financial burden. This is due to alternatives that are usually exclusive to the insurance and unaffordable, as well as the ineffective results drive people to invest more and more time, accompanied by significant payment. Furthermore, the pressure of finance may influence patients' mental health as the huge and long-term cost of therapy. Overall, based on both arguments above, I completely believe that trying alternative medicine and treatments is a negative development, and such evidence has proven that alternative therapy not only lacks sufficient guarantees about the medical effect, but also leads to substantial financial pressures. As a consequence, it is not an ideal and sustainable way to overcome health issues compared to formal hospital treatment.