Some believe that history is one of the most important school subjects. Others think subjects like science and technology are more essential for the future. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The question regarding the importance of various subjects taught in the school is a debatable topic. While a few individuals argue that history is an essential part of academic curriculum, others opine that scientifically oriented education is paramount to build a career. This essay discusses both views in detail before presenting my opinion about it. Proponents of history as an important subject argue that it plays a vital role in understanding both the cultural and traditional values of one’s land. Hence, a sense of integrity and respect for the nation’s customs can be inculcated in the minds of the younger generation. Furthermore, these young children, who have the knowledge about their roots, can be raised as advocates with the responsibility to conserve their geographical and cultural heritage. For example, the historical background of traditional festivals, such as onam in Kerala, is taught in schools to enlighten the kids about the cultural significance as well as the values associated with the festival. Nonetheless, critics contend that science and technology are more relevant subjects as they support children in their professional life. Scientific and technical knowledge are highly beneficial in the job market to secure a highly paid career option. In addition, they are the cornerstones in building a promising knowledge-economy. For instance, nowadays, professional jobs not only require high educational qualifications, but also advanced technical skills, including proficiency in computer applications. Thus, it is justified that scientific education cannot be compromised for non-scientific subjects. In my opinion, as young children, they need to be exposed to every section of learning, which includes science as well as history. School education is the lowest tier of educational system and offers children more time to learn leisurely. This is the best time to introduce their historical background to them as it can be delivered as a beautiful story. However, it shouldnot compromise scientific learning. A balanced academic curriculum can serve as a viable solution to this problem, which can be combined with interactive pedagogical techniques. In conclusion, although scientific learning guarantees a promising future, historical education also plays a prominent role in developing a responsible citizen. Therefore, both subjects are important for the holistic development of a child.