More adults are playing computer games. Why is this happening? Is this a positive or negative trend?

In today’s world, many adults tend to play more video games than they used to in the past. This essay will explore the possible reasons why this is happening and whether it has a positive impact on the individuals. I think it is both positive and negative, but it depends on the person. Nowadays, video games have become very popular among adults. They consider it as a way of relaxing their brains and escaping reality for some period of time. For example, many adults play games like Minecraft after work to unwind. Moreover, the most important reason why it thrived is the development of technology. Last century it was very complicated for adults if they wanted to play video games. Firstly, it was a luxury and also inaccessible for many. For instance, early gaming consoles like the Nintendo were expensive and not widely available. Furthermore, it raises the question of whether it is beneficial. As stated above, for people gaming has been a way of escaping reality. It is mostly considered one of the ways to have fun nowadays. For example, adults often play online chess to relieve stress. On top of that, for many people computer games are their way of making a living and it has reached a certain level where it is considered a sport. A good example of this is professional League of Legends or Fortnite players who earn money through tournaments. On the other hand, gamers tend to lose social skills over time, the main reason being lack of face to face interactions. Due to these problems many people suffer from social anxiety. In conclusion, gaming has its own positives and negatives. The freedom it gives is very important for people, especially for teenagers, but it also causes a lot of problems. Social skills are a very important trait one should have, and this virtual world is limiting it. I think the time one plays should be controlled, and if the time is monitored, I think it is okay.