Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What actions can be taken to prevent people from having this problem.

Debt financing purchases that people don’t need or are not even affluent enough to afford are not unusual. Due to the desire to live a certain lifestyle, individuals go into debt. In order to stop this irresponsible behaviour, stricter measures regarding the handout of loans are necessary. First of all, people have the urge to live a life with a certain lifestyle that may cost more than they actually have in their bank account. Therefore, they need to finance their excessive spending habits with borrowed money. For example, if an individual wants to go on an extra holiday but doesn’t have the needed capital, the only way to finance it is with debt to fulfil their individual living standard. Furthermore, debt is often spent on cars that lose value over time; therefore, even the sale of the automobile will not provide enough funds to repay the debt. Hence, the accumulated debt increases over time. However, in order to stop this irresponsible spending habit, immediate measures are needed so that people do not collect too much debt and are still able to repay the debt with interest. This is why banks and other financial institutes need stricter requirements to guarantee a loan to a private person. For example, a loan applicant should get denied for a loan if the borrowed capital is used for consumer goods like a new phone or a car. Moreover, apps like Klarna accelerate the growth of personal debt because especially the youth is irresponsible with online purchases that can be paid with debt and later in time. In conclusion, the reason why people buy things they cannot afford is to live a luxurious lifestyle, and stricter loan applications are urgently needed to stop this unsustainable type of financing.