Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happen, and what measures can betaken to tackle the problem?

Criminal reoffendence has become a pressing concern in mordern society. This essay will first analyze the reasons behind this phenomenom, and then put forward corresponding solutions. There are several factors contributing to this issue. Firstly, the main factor for most offenders committing crimes again, once they have been released froms prison, is due to the lack of rehabilitation whilst in jail. To be more precise, offenders are not given a chance to retrain and learn new skills for their future or develop a deeper understanding of correct moral behaviour and instead mix with other criminals, which only strengthens their criminal intentions. Moreover, when criminals want to get a job after the punishment, many of them suffer from social discrimination, ultimately leading to commit crimes again because of the difficulties in making a living. In addition, nature is a main factor. Some people are borned with criminal genes, lacking empathy and being aggressive. To mitigate the problem, various solutions should be adopted. For governments, they have a reponsibility to ensure the access to job for offenders via setting more rehabilitation programs including counseling and community service. As for those hardened criminals, it is neccessary to have more supercision and harsh penalties to deter crimes. For individuals, education is the fundamental way to prevent crimes and reform criminals, improving people’s moral standards and legal awareness as well as reducing criminal motives. In conclusion, the reoffending behavious are attributed to the lack of rehabilition and the personal nature. It is essential for governments to pay more attention to this issue and take positive actions to strenghen citizens’ legal awareness.