Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should beto give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What ,in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

About 60% of the world's population are at their prime workable age which is causing an imbalance with higher supply of job seekers and lowered demand by the employers. This is imbalance is polarised further due to advanced technology and automation which is contributing to operational efficiency across all sectors. Some people think that universities should include professional skills and education in their curriculum, while others may be of the opinion that universities should not focus much on professional skills. In my opinion, a university should focus on empowering their students with professional skills mainly due to two main reasons. 95% of the post-graduate students aim to join the workforce after their course completion. Professional skills learnt in their curriculum sets them apart from the others who are not aware about the same. This increases their chances to join the workforce within 3 months of their course completion. Students with professional skills are more likely to excel in their workplace as well, since employers do not have to spend resources in training them from scratch. Employers consider such candidates as high ROI. With the increase in unemployablity rate, equipping students with professional skills also encourages entrepreneurial spirits. It allows the students to pursue their entrepreneurial journey, rather than depending on the job market. Professional skill along with in-depth understanding of a subject allows students the freedom to choose their career path without constraints. However, universities without professional curriculum obliges their students to work harder to come at par with the job market requirement. Hence, I am of the opinion, all universities should include professional technical and soft skills in their curriculum.