"Prevention is better than cure." Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today's era where globalisation and modernisation have brought the world closer, an epidemic spread out like wildfire is easier than ever. People are travelling across the globe introducing varied disease-causing micro-organisms to a foreign territory causing citizens with low immunity barrier to fall sick. Therefore, some people are of the opinion that a significant percentage of the health budget should be allocated to health campaigns and precautions rather than treatments, and I strongly affirm to the same. Building and maintaining health infrastructure is a costly affair. Even if a union government allocates a budget to build massive health infrastructure, it is unlikely to cure certain diseases without any aftermath. For example, sexually transmitted diseases like HIV and HPV are still incurable. Governmnet led vaccination drives and awareness campaigns have prevented the disease but if detected the patient is unlikely to survive. Awareness and campaigns about hygeine habits like, covering your mouth in crowded areas, washing and sanitising your hands, eating the right supplements can prevent and control the breakout of pandemics and epidemics. For example: Covid-19 spread out across the globe like wildfire due to unawareness of public health etiquettes. Awareness about Preventive measures and a global lock-down gradually stabilised the situation. Vaccination drives have made us immune to the virus now. Spending on Treatments only is an expensive affair for the union governments as well. Even if the budget is available building infrastructure and maintaining it is cumbersome. On the contrary, if significant proportion of health budget is allocated to preventive measures it impacts more citizens keeping them aware and healthy. Hence, I am of the opinion that a significant percentage of the health budget should be allocated to health education and precaution rather than treatments only.