Some people believe that development in technology has brought various environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The relationship between technological development and environmental problems has always been a controversial issue. This essay will discuss why this is the case and the reasons I believe that technology is the key to a better environment. On the one hand, nowadays technological achievements are a major cause of pollution worldwide. The number of small as well as large factories has doubled over the last two decades. It is true that such organisations provide high-tech products for numerous sectors, but they also produce huge emissions of chemical gases every day, which directly affect the fauna and the soil. For example, in China, the largest economy in the world in 2024,during the 2008 Olympic Games, Beijing had to shut down all industries near the stadiums to provide acceptable conditions for the athletes. This illustrates the extent of the environmental damage caused by industrial emissions. On the other hand,technological achievements help nature in several ways, mainly through the renewable energy development. In 2025, electric cars are becoming more and more popular around the world: with 0% of emissions, those cars are considered eco-friendly, and the famous ones are Tesla cars. Furthermore, modern recycling technologies are the best solution to avoid pollution,especially plastic recycling. In conclusion, it is true that the environment was negatively affected by technological development in the past. However, nowadays, I am confident that the new generation has adopted a responsible mindset to address these problems by seeking alternatives while technology continues to develop.