Some people think that competition at work, at school and in a daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no denying the fact that choosing the right methodology to thrive while performing our daily work is essential. While it is a commonly held believe that competition concept is crucial for more achievements, there is also an argument that cooperation among team members is an effective and practical tool towards excellence. This essay will analyse this topic from both points of view and express my opinion. On one hand, competition plays an important role in increasing the productivity at the work environment. In other words, it will encourage the employees to accomplish more efficient work and it will eventually lead to enhancement in the overall performance. In addition, by adapting this strategy professionally it will significantly help to identify the weaknesses easily and therefore, it can be addressed in early stages. For example, the majority of universities globally are providing a certificate which is called The Dean’s List. The list seeks to pick the 10% of the most hard-working students in each college based on their academic performance. On the other hand, developing the skills of teamwork is critical in almost every sector. It is also possible to say that working as a group will easier the task to be solved properly and to gather the needed recommendations for upcoming challenges. Moreover, by feeling the bond and chemistry among teamwork it may motivate other members to overcome undesirable traits. Such as, shyness, social phobia, and self-doubt. For instance, the weekly meetings is a tradition which most corporates are following in order to provide more space for others to collaborate and express their opinions freely. In conclusion, there are no easy answer to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that the presence of both principles is desirable for any work environment therefore, balancing is the most appropriate solution to handle the issues wisely.