Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A growing debate between college and university students is “Should I study a second major?”. The answer to that question is a yes or no. In this essay, L will go through both answers. Discussing how the two groups look at the problem, as well as state my personal opinion on the matter. The first group, whose answer to our question is a resounding "yes", believes that having more than one skill or craftsmanship is more important than being one -dimensional in something. For instance, a programmer who can work on both front-end and back-end is more resourceful and valuable to a company rather than a full-stack back-end developer. As a result, the first group believes that taking more than one subject in university can create more opportunities for an individual. On the other hand, people who answer "no" are more traditional. They firmly stand on following a set curriculum for their higher education. Furthermore, they believe that people with one major will develop critical thinking that can help an individual in problem solving and management. Also, they refer to the first group as "Jack of all trades, master of none". Consequently, they claim an individual can reach higher places in our community. In conclusion, both views have great points, advantages, and drawbacks. I personally agree that by selecting one subject and mastering it you can reach higher places. However, that is not always the case. That being said, my opinion on the matter is that you should try to learn more than one thing, whether it is an extra subject, a cooking recipe, a sport or any other thing. Because it will be proven useful in your future.