In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Consumers nowadays can easily discover food products from all over the world at their local grocery stores thanks to globalisation. Personally, I believe it is a positive trend that not only benefits the consumers but also the suppliers from various countries and regions. In general, consumers are offered more alternatives when they shop at a supermarket that provides food from different destinations. In addition, it also creates a sense of excitement and helps consumers to escape from their mundane lives when they see the products they have never tried before. Meanwhile, purchase food from a foreign country enables people to experience a different culture or tradition without traveling to that place. For instance, European consumers might find Chinese dumplings in a supermarket freezer, and they can conveniently enjoy the food at home. Moreover, the massive demand for global food procurement enables suppliers from developing countries to expand their sales and production. On the one hand, it creates values in the whole supply chain and contributes economy growth. On the other hand, farmers in the developing countries have more opportunities to conduct their business. For instance, it is not uncommon to find fruits from South America in a grocery shop in the USA, and the high demand of the fresh fruits boosts the economy of the producer country. In conclusion, I think it is a positive development to have international food products in supermarkets. This trend not only provides shoppers with more options but also contributes the economy in the suppliers' regions.