Violence and crime have increased in most major cities of the world. Some people say this is because children now play violent video games online. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued that video games played on the internet by young people increase violence and crime rates in some countries. I, however, fully disagree with this notion because there are other contributing factors such as the background of the child and the movies they watch. The background of children involved in criminal activities affects their actions. Children raised in love know how to treat others well. A study in Zimbabwe revealed that most violent youths are either raised by abusive parents or come from broken homes. To them, fighting is normal and a form of communication. Furthermore, some young people spend time watching gruesome movies on applications such as Netflix and Youtube. This affects their actions when in public as some tend to copy characters they watch. This is why most of the films have age restrictions which, however, are not followed by most individuals. For instance, it has been found that during lunch time at school, some students mimic violent characters such as John Cena when playing. This results in pupils getting hurt. In conclusion, I, fully disagree with the notion that playing video games online is the contributing factor to high crime rate and violence. The way a person is raised at home and television films they watch are some of the fueling factors to such behaviour.