More and more companies are allowing employee to work at home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Technology has increased by leaps and bounds. Now most of the companies are offering the workers to work remotely. I think it is more negative than positive development. No doubt, people get flexibility of hours, and save money on commuting. However, people feel isolated, lazy when they are working outside office hours. Some people think that companies should allow their employees to work from their homes. It will not only help to take decisions independantly but also make them more productive. It is common to see, those individuals who work remotely, can easily focus on their targets because they do not need any guidance to achieve company goals. Moreover, people can spend quality time with their loved ones, and understand what are their desires. So, telecommuting helps to resolve the family disputes as well. Also, homeworking offers flexibility, and they do not need to spend money and time on commuting from one place to another. Although, teleworking has its own pros, but the negative side can not be ignored. The first and foremost is people become lazy when they know they have flexibility in hours. Even they use their time on watching movies, playing games, which makes their nature unproductive. Another is that, people work without the supervision of their managers. In this way, they can do a lot of mistakes, and consequently, they may face termination from the company if they performed badly. Additionally, telecommuting increased the workload on the employees. Employees become isolated and they hardly get enough time for themselves. As per the recent Canadian survey, more than half of Canadians felt 52.6% workload increased as compared to the past decades. All this happened due to the competition faced by companies. In conclusion, although remote working provides flexibility, independence, and family benefits, its drawbacks such as isolation, lack of discipline, and increased workload outweigh the positives. Therefore, I believe that telecommuting is more of a negative than a positive development for both employees and companies.