Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to reduce the amount of waste they produce, while others argue that governments and companies should take the lead in minimizing waste. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is ongoing debate about how to reduce the amount of waste produced in modern society. Some argue that individuals should take responsibility for addressing this issue, whereas others believe that corporations and governments should lead the efforts. In my opinion, both arguments have valid perspectives. This essay will examine both points of view before reaching a conclusion. One of the reasons why large-scale companies and authorities should manage waste reduction is because they have the financial resources. Constructing recycling factories in abandoned areas can be done only by wealthy companies alongside government regulations that facilitate the approval to start such a businiess. For instance, in 2010, the government of Dubai built an enormous recycling plant in the desert, in order to reduce the amount of litter, while also generating sustainable energy. As a result, pollution caused by waste decreased significantly. Another important argument is that most household waste originates at home. In 2015, a small city in Japan suffered from garbage accumulation for many years, caused by residents’ ignorance, until the locals began taking full responsibility to address the issue by encouraging each other and raising awareness of the risks. Consequently, nearly 80% of the litter was reduced due to community support. It is also notable that when individuals educate themselves, others tend to follow their example, benefiting the environment as a whole. In conclusion, although individuals’ awareness and community support can have a significant impact on waste disposal, local governments and senior companies can contribute more to addressing this problem. In my view, both sides should collaborate to achieve maximum results and reduce the environmental impact of waste.