Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others beilieve that the purpose of the museums is to educate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Certain individuals are of the opinion that museums are meant for entertainment. Others, however, think that such places are used for educational purposes. I think the latter holds more water. The essay below will discuss both views and then give a conclusion. Some people think visiting museums is just for entertainment. They can spend the whole day taking beautiful pictures of displayed things. Some even buy paintings from the museums to decorate their homes. They do all this to entertain themselves. For instance, certain studies reveal that about 30% of individuals who visit museums go there to spend time and take beautiful pictures just to keep memories. However, I, think in doing all this, they still learn something unknowingly. On the other hand, others are of the opinion that museums are built to educate people. I agree with this notion because most of them keep historical stories that are used to educate the public. Foreigners and students usually go there to learn about the place. To exemplify, in Zimbabwe, learners sometimes visit museums, such as the one at Matopo international park. The tour guides teach them about the history of the place and everything on display. Also, there is more information written on the frames. Hence, visitors can read on their own. To conclude, I think museums are meant for educational purposes. People should visit them not for entertaiment but to learn. Therefore, citizens should be thought the importance and purpose of such buildings.