The rise of social media has affercted personal relation ships and society as a whole. Do the advantages of using social media for communicating outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, social media has become an integral part of modern life and is widely discussed across the globe. While some people argue that its advantages for communicating surpass its disadvantages, others hold an opposing view. In my opinion, I totally believe that life was much better before the innovation of social media conquered our world. On the one hand, many individuals claim that using the internet for bridging gaps between people, locally or internationally, is one of the most revolutionised technologies in the contemporary decade. For example, this omnipresent feature made our family and society tightly bonded, which has been revealed in studies recently. I have witnessed that firsthand, when I was young, my father worked overseas and reaching him was a challenge. In contrast, today, I can call anybody around the world at any time, not just by a message, but also in a video/voice call. Thus, these people see this technology has shaped our life in a good way. On the other hand, critics argue that Internet communication often serves as disruptive intrusion rather than a beneficial tool. They say that easy communication has made people communicate less. To illustrate, if we were living in 80s, we would spend Saturday night at one of our friends or relatives’ home not just behind a screen scrolling Facebook or writing a tweet. Furthermore, empirical research, which has been published lately, revealed that our real social life interactions have been eroded 70% than it used to be 10 years ago. Hence, social media has an excessive influence on our world, but in the wrong way. In summary, although both sides present valid arguments regarding this topic, I firmly believe that social media's drawbacks outweigh its merits. Ultimately, we should raise people's awareness to use it for their benefits to save our future.