Some parents believe that extra private lessons outside school hours, where students work alone with a teacher, can help them do better at school. Others disagree. What are the advantages and disadvantages of private tuition?

Private tutoring services during off- school hours, where students receive one-on-one tailored lessons, have gained popularity among some parents, given the promising results of those lessons improving students ’ academic performance at school. However, other parents hold different opinions about the positive effects of such tutoring sessions due to their remarkable disadvantages. Private tutoring outside of school hours can bring various benefits to students ’ learning outcomes. Firstly, extra hours of learning in the private lessons can strengthen students ’ pre-existing understanding of acquired knowledge with more practice. Those tutoring sessions usually allow students to apply the knowledge they acquired at school in more scenarios like additional practice questions or tasks, making the knowledge more memorable and accessible with better long-term retention of the information. Secondly, students tend to access new learning techniques from their private tutors, which can enhance students ’ learning efficiency and productivity that can be applied to all learning environments including the school. However, the disadvantages of private tuition about students ’ wellbeing and learning motivation are also very profound. Not only does it significantly reduce the leisure time that the students originally can enjoy without the private lessons, which increases physical and mental stress and burden eventually leading to worsened wellbeing, but it is also very likely that the availability of private tutoring reduces students ’ motivation of learning at school, as they feel that they have the backup learning method, where the private tutors are seen as the substitutive figure of school teachers who are able to provide the same knowledge that is necessary for the students to learn at school. Accordingly, the students may refuse to engage with the learning materials with the amount of effort they are supposed to exert in school settings. As a result, the students fail to accumulate critical knowledge that is supposed to be strengthened in the tutoring sessions, which makes the tutoring sessions unable to fulfill their original purpose of “bettering” at- school studying and simply bring more financial burden on the parents. In conclusion, private tutoring lessons can be highly beneficial to students ’ studies, but their risks to students ’ wellbeing and motivation can also prevent the benefits from being induced.