Time: 40 minutes In many countries, shops open for longer hours daily every week. What is the negative or positive effects of this on the shoppers and local community. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Among shopkeepers, the opinions about expanding opening time are separated. One says that it will make more profit, while the other argues that the capital will increase. We cannot deny that longer service time is comfortable to us, but it is also crucial for us to consider the effects of this on shoppers local community to prevent undesirable outcomes. On the one hand, if shops open for longer hours, it will be more convenient for shoppers to find the places to consume goods or services, especially in urgent. For example, once my phone charger was broken during the night, I tried to find the opening store to buy it. However, I gave up and bought it in the morning. Moreover, the local community's economy will thrive since there is more spending within the local. It can also attract more tourists from the outside who prefer night vibes. On the other hand, it will directly affect employees because they have to work for a longer time. Even if they get paid more, working harder can exhaust them. Furthermore, the local community must be responsible for the unfair treatment of the shop owner toward their employees in the case of shop owners exploiting them. In conclusion, opening for longer hours has negative and positive effects on the shoppers and local community. It can also stimulate local spending and attract outsiders. The customers may appreciate it, but they may not realise the hardship behind the comfort.