Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

In the modern world there is a global problem of certain animal species extinction; in addition even more of them rapidly decrease in population coming to this critical state. In my opinion, the main reasons for this are poaching and deforestation. Firstly, poaching became viral more than a hundred years ago and brought significant financial benefits for hunters due to a lack of legal limitations for this process. Thus, across many parts of the world, wild animals faced a rapid massive cut in their number. As an example, the white rhinos almost went extinct as a result of this problem. While this type of rhinos was completely common in Africa in the beginning of the previous century, active illegal hunting resulted in the fact that nowadays there are only several representatives of them left on the Earth. Moreover, a global use of wild forest trees for industrial goals brings such a crucial problem as disappearence of natural habitat for millions of creatures. Since selling wood made from the wild trees is highly profitable, businesses do not hesitate to cut large forest areas to obtain a valuable material. Therefore, the species that can live only in the forests have to move from their natural living areas, while plenty of them cannot endure this challenge and steadily reduce in population. Nevertheless, there are existing solutions to the mentioned challenges. As for poaching, most of the developed countries strictly forbid this activity, giving either prison sentences or large fines to people who still tend to illegaly kill animals without an appropriate hunting license. For instance, in some states of the United States a person can receive a death sentence for killing a wild animal in the national park. The solution to the decrease of natural habitat related to deforestation is a governmental restriction of an illegal wood mining. For example, in the European Union this process is highly regulated, so that it is extremely risky for businesses to conduct such kind of activity. To sum up, while the consequences of such activities as poaching and deforestation are disastrous for the life of vast numbers of various living creatures, there are ways to prevent it. Applying strong regulations on both processes results in creating a safe and healthy conditions for wild species not to go extinct and peacefully develop within their natural habitats.