Some people think that schools should teach students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities to study together.

Opinions are often divided as to whether children should be segragated according to their intelligence level in schools. A school of thought holds that there should be separate teaching, others contend that it would be better to teach students altogether. This essay attempts to shed light on both perspectives. I, however, side with the latter view. Those who favour teaching intelligent students and weak ones in separate sections, say that both sides can be taught at their pace and the sessions can be made more interesting for them. Moreover, different teaching tactics can be adopted in each group to give students the maximum benefits, In a mixed group, many times weak students cannot cope up with the pace of studies and therefore come under high pressure. However, when they are separated, educators can handle them tactfully and bring them back their lost confidence. Furthermore, it has been seen that sometimes the more intelligent students can show disruptive behaviour. They can grasp things very soon and can be disturbing elements in the class. It is difficult for teachers to maintain discipline in the classroom. On the other hand, the main reason for teaching students of all abilities altogether is that otherwise they would develop an inferiority complex. The other groups may tease them for being silly and stupid, which can have a direct effect on their psyche. On the contrary, when learners study in a mixed group, a sense of competition develops anđ they are motivated to study. In my opinion, children should not be separated. A student who is not good at studies may have other qualities that can pass onto their peers. As a result, it is advisable to have extra coaching for the weak In conclusion, although there are merits of both approaches to teach students, it would be better to teach them in a mixed class.