It has been said that reading for pleasure is better in developing imagination and language skills than watching T.V. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Pleasure reading helps improves imaginative quality and linguistic ability as compared to television watching. I strongly support this idea as I belive, it can lead to better development of mind. Books area a great source of knowledge, be it general or educational. Some books with fictional content, can help us create an imaginative world, for example books like Harry potter. While other books like, How to live your life, give us wisdom and knowledge. These books shape our character while also entertaining us in ways that not affecting our health, as opposed to watching screen videos for long hours that can potentially harm our vision. This could be used as a great source of building strong foundation for the children. Furthermore, stories do not only entertain us, but also teach us spellings along with vocabulary and comprehension. Great books like Pride and Prejudice or The Great Gatsby, are passed down in generations as masterpieces of literature. Learning langauge through reading has been an age old practice. These writings, not only help us understand the langauge used by the authour, but also give us an insight of their thoughts. Giving the experience of a more personalised prespective, rather than a general notion, depicted in the screen plays. Books have been studied as the source of cultural history over years. For example, Romeo and Julliet entail the regressive idea present in those times in the society from the author's point of view. Hence, helping us understand the changes of ideas and cultures over decades. In conclusion, the advantage of reading books for pleasure exceeds far more greater than sitting in front of the television in leisure time. Thus, teaching younger generations to read books and novels can help in the growth of both their minds and personalities.