Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to befast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What shouldbe done to solve this problem?

Extinction of animals is becoming a severe problem. Meanwhile, the number of endangered animals is also growing rapidly. There are two main reasons for the situation, and practical measures can be taken to address it. Firstly, the dominant reason causing animal extinction is the loss of habitats. Due to the need of developing human society, the sphere of human activity has expanded, which takes up places where animals live. For example, deforestation triggered by the increasing need for crops causes habitat loss for animals dwelling in forests. The loss of habitats threatens animals ’ basic living needs, leading to extinction. Secondly, climate change also puts animals ’ lives at risk. The carbon emission of human society adds excessive amount of greenhouse gas into the atmosphere, which leads to global warming. As a result, changes occur to the climate that animals used to be familiar with. For instance, icebergs in the North Pole are continuously melting, leaving lesser and lesser spaces for the polar bear, causing higher death rate for them. Therefore, climate change contributes a lot to the extinction of animals. Two solutions could help according to the causes. One is to regulate urbanization. This will keep the population under control, so people will stop using animals ’ habitats for further development. By doing this, the number of animals will increase because of having stable place to live. Another is to encourage low-carbon lifestyle. Regulations should be introduced to limit private cars in order to alleviate global warming, so that the climate will be comfortable for animals. As a result, the population of animals will rise. In conclusion, the extinction of animals can be caused by habitat loss and climate change, which relate to human activities. However, by controlling urbanization and promoting low-carbon lifestyle, the situation can be alleviated.