As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Does the advantage of this for individuals outweigh the disadvantage for the environment?

There is an ongoing debate about people's tendency to use their own cars in developing countries. While I believe that this desire offers convenience for individuals, it can pose a wide range of detrimental consequences to the natural environment, so the disadvantages of the development for the environment outweigh the advantages of this for individuals. To begin with, using personal vehicles leads to serious challenges for society, including increasing the level of air pollution, the consumption of fossil fuels, and the amount of traffic congestion. These issues are responsible for reducing public health and causing economic problems in communities. A pertinent example is Iran, where people, due to poor public transport systems, prefer to utilise their own cars. This shift has led to diminishing air quality and increasing illness there. Hence, such issues are the main factor in destroying the natural environment all around the world. Furthermore, cars emit toxic gas, which in combination with water produces acid rain. This form of rain has detrimental effects on farmlands and underground freshwater. These challenges directly result in serious public health challenges and threaten wildlife's survival, which has become a pressing concern in today's modern era. As an example, farmlands situated in the close distance of power stations have gradually lost their fertility. This problem stems from the combination of acids with important elements in soil, including Zn, Cu, and Mg. Thus, because of such issues that using personal cars offers, the environment faces a cycle of detrimental outcomes. In conclusion, although reliance on one's own car makes life more comfortable, the wave of drawbacks acts as a barrier that makes this practice unreasonable. Consequently, it is essential to use public transport systems and for policymakers to carry out measures to encourage people to abandon this habit.