Some people think that there should be a complete ban on all forms of advertising. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that all forms of advertisements should be removed. While banning advertising can bring some benefits, I do not think we should forgo all advertising. One argument against advertisements is they usually promote harmful products. It is not uncommon to see commercials advertising products high in sugar, junk food, alcohol, and even tobacco. Even worse, these advertisements are often targeted at young people and sometimes children. Regular exposure to such advertising can encourage them to buy those potentially harmful products. However, most advertisements are too useful to ban. Firstly, they can be informative. They often inform the public about the availability, price, and quality of a particular product or service. This advantage offered by advertising is especially helpful for people with busy schedules as they can learn about their potential purchase at their own convenience without having to leave their home. Businesses would suffer even more from the complete ban on advertisements. Since their emergence, advertisements have become the most effective tool to reach out to customers. While businesses can employ other marketing tools, such as discounts, word of mouth, and event marketing, most companies and producers would likely see a downturn in business if they did not rely on advertising. This highlights the significance of advertising for businesses. In conclusion, I do not disregard the potential harm which advertising can cause but banning all types of advertising would be an unreasonable course of action because they inform the public and help businesses to attract customers.