some people say that you can learn more about another country by watching television programmes and films about it than by actually visiting it. how true is this statement? Is there anything you can learn about another country by visiting it that you cannot learn by watching progammes and films about it? give reasons for your answers an include any revelant exapmles from your own experience?

It is believed that watching a particular country's television shows help understand the country more than visiting it in person. I do not think it is true. There are several aspects of national culture, like local traditions and street food that can only be revealed by visiting it and would not be possible by merely watching their channels. Every region has its own unique way of living. Most television shows depict a general idea of society that is globally recognised. Athough it helps us understand the major difference in their culture, it does not give us an insight of their daily livelihood. For instance, KPOP from South Korea is widely known, but what about other forms of entertainment people use? There is not much, that is shown in the shows. It would need us to visit and stay in the country to discover more. To answer the second question, regional festivities are not usually captured by mainstream story writers. Majority of the shows cover big cities and general traditions. To unravel the local celebrations, it is imminent, that one should physically go to that country. For example. Diwali and Holi are well aquinted festivals of India, but Gudi padwa, which is widely celebrated in the Maharashtran region of India, could only be discovered on a visit. Furthermore, street food is different from one place to another. It would be difficult to cover them all on screen. This experience is not possible virtually. Thus, TV programmes can only give a glimpse of a region's culture, it is not cover to all the aspects. True knowledge and understanding will only be acquired by staying amoungst the citizens sharing their lifestyle.