2.Some people believe that an aging population is a serious problem for society. Others think it can be managed. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

As the society and economy developing, the number of aging people is increasing, which rises the concern for some people to take care of them. I believe it can be a burden for society in the future. It is undeniable that aging population is a heavy load both for a family and for a country. On the one hand, take Japan as an typical example, young people have to take care of their aged parents in finance and in mental, especially when they get sick in the hospital. On the other hand, aged people may take up the positions in the labour market and the government have to prolong the age of retirement to pay off the deficit of the pension, which will in turn decrease the opportunities for young people to find jobs to make a living. Thus, it is unsustainable for Japan to maintain a high-speed of economic growing or high level of social welfare services. Moreover, the research and development of high-end technology and science may be short of labour since the aging people rises, lacking of enough motivation in terms of creativity. As a consequence, the soft power of a country can be weakened compared to other countries with healthier population constitution. In contrast, there is a chance that problems that aging people bring about can be managed in a suitable way. In Britain and France, for instance, the governments advocate the development of Silver Hair Economy, encouraging enterprises to research products and services that more available to old people, supporting medical system with more subsidy, guiding the aging population into the tourism markets to stimulate consumption, and implementing beneficial investments with the pension, which can relieve the stress on young people and sustain the recycle of the economy with novel energy and momentum. As far as I’m concerned, the growth of aging people is a considerable burden. Despite Silver Hair Economy energizing the development for some countries to some extent, the speed of the cost of taking care of old people will still be accelerated rapidly in the next 10 years, far beyond the speed of the increase Silver Hair Economy contributing to. The fertility rate will keep plummet, in the meanwhile the cost of medicine and nursing institution will climb up. On the whole, the growth and the influence are gradually falling for high-farewell developed countries in a long time. Specifically, as for China with 1.5 billion population, it’s a tremendous challenge for our central government to support this large scale of aging people with a lower level of average incomes than western countries. In short, aging population brings more challenges in finance, employment markets, and health care system, even though some countries create Silver Hair Economy to try to manage the decline of economy due to the aging population. There is still a long way especially for us Chinese to explore a new approach to address this concerning problem.