Topic: "Some people argue that governments should make healthy food cheaper and unhealthy food more expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree?"

It is often argued that government should increase prices of unhealthy foods and make healthy meals affordable.The writer strongly agrees with the notion and this essay will give reasons for that in subsequent paragraphs. First of all,the main reason why healthy foods should be made cheaper is to help reduce mortality rates in the country.In recent times,many deaths are associated with unhealthy foods.Many individuals especially youngsters,refer to consume fast foods due the low cost of such foods. This lifestyle significantly increases death in our society since these meals cause health complications.Examples are obesity,high blood pressure,high blood sugar and many more. A research conducted in Cape coast Teaching hospital revealed that approximately 60% of deaths are as a result of unhealthy foods. This vividly justifies the reason why government should make unhealthy food expensive. Secondly,making healthy foods very cheap will help the economic growth of the society. This is because many healthy foods such as fruits and vegetables are cultivated and harvested in many countries. As a result, monies acquired from these foods help improve the economic growth of the nation.A good example is Africa where fruits such as mango,orange,tomatoes and lettuces and planted.Little money is needed by farmers to harvest these crops. Therefore,prices can be made low for every citizen to be able purchase them. A research revealed that countries with low prices of healthy foods have good economic growth while others with expensive cost of healthy foods have retarded economic growth. In conclusion,affordable balanced diets will be help reduce mortality rates and improve economic growth of the nation.