Television has become an important part of our lives. What are the causes behind it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many people are starting to use the TV more and more, and they believe that it has become a crucial part of their life. There are many reasons why, such as entertainment and escapism. It is a positive situation, and in this essay, I will explain. On the one hand, huge numbers of people are watching television to enjoy and entertain themselves; for example, if someone does not have anywhere to go outside or they are having free time, they would turn on the tv and watch documentaries or different shows. Also, others find an escape whenever they are watching TV; it may be considered their comfort time. For instance, if the person is tired after work or had a bad day at the company, they may want to escape the reality and relieve themselves by watching their favourite film. On the other hand, it is a positive matter, and the cause behind it lies in many reasons. Firstly, TV shows can be educating for children at a young age or even for grown-ups. For kids, they may watch videos about how to learn numbers or animals' names; as for the adults, there are also many choices, such as the news and local and global events. Secondly, it may offer inspiration, which may help individuals develop. If an individual is planning to travel to a country they have never been to, they can watch some videos about their food, culture and even their most popular tourist places on YouTube. To conclude, television has many uses, whether it is for enjoyment, information or education purposes; it just has to be used in a good way without overusing it.