Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued by many that advertisements assist people to buy goods they think are necessary, while others believe quite the opposite and think that commercials are crucial to our society. On the one hand, from my point of view, advertising has become a powerful tool that helps people consume things they really do not need. For various reasons, firstly, it encourages individuals to buy things they do not need. For example, if a person is going to the supermarket to get ingredients to prepare dinner, they may see a stand that is customised for one brand only, such as sweets; they may tend to grab it, even if they had a dessert before. Secondly, it has become a trend that affects humans to buy items just because they are popular on TikTok or Snapchat. On the other hand, from my experience, I have been influenced to purchase objects I do not acquire by many people near me. For instance, in the past, I had agreed to go out with my friends to entertain ourselves after passing the finals, and I allowed myself to spend 400 riyals that day; however, unfortunately, I spent over my budget, and the number increased to 700 because I had been informed by one of my friends that some lipstick kit is popular nowadays. To conclude, advertising plays a huge part and has a major impact on people these days. Whether they are good or bad, the person should always look out for themselves and not be manipulated and tricked by some commercials they have seen.