Many people today prefer to socialise online rather than spend time with friends in the local community. To what extend do advantages outweight disadvantages?

The vast majority of human beings like socializing on the internet more than meeting people in real life. Despite the weaknesses in having online relationships, there are lots of notable strengths that should be considered. First and foremost, the internet era gives us an opportunity to have friends from all over the world with various cultural backgrounds, languages and experiences. It is certainly true that humans should expand their mindset, which can be done by stepping out of their comfort zone and meeting people from different parts of our planet. In addition, there are plenty of apps and services that may help the community to interact with each other by playing online games, learning something new and doing other funny activities together. For instance, a few weeks ago I discovered a new website which gives the opportunity to watch movies with your friends simultaneously in a developed online room. Nevertheless, there are some highly undesirable effects of this situation. To start with, it is important to mention, that spending too much time by smartphone and computer may damage vision, posture and mental health. By going out individuals tend to do different physical activities such as walking, riding a bike and hiking, those activities affect way better for both physical and psychological health. Furthermore, live interaction is often more genuine and sincere. Many people favour trusting and believing humans that they see in person. To conclude, although having online friends has certain cons, it also has an extremely positive impact on our minds, mentality and background.