In many countries, it is illegal for companies to reject job applicants because of their age. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this competitive world, in many parts of the world, laws prohibit rejecting individuals who are eager to work due to their age. I believe that it is a change for the better, although it may create certain issues in businesses. To begin with, age-discrimination laws give an equal opportunity to citizens, ensuring lifelong employment. That is to say that people who are aged are able to work with younger generations. By doing this, the company itself benefits, too. Because diversity in age among workers leads to a collaborative working environment. When working together, both young and old individuals can teach one another essential skills. While the elderly are experienced and are capable of sharing valuable life lessons, the youth can assist in dealing with cutting-edge technology. This mutual interaction will definitely influence on the productivity of the work in the company. Besides, when laws ban ignoring aged citizens from applying for a job, countries balance the financial condition among their residents. As long as the elderly are engaged in work, they might take care of themselves, not being dependent on the government's financial support, which in turn alleviates the authorities' burden. Consequently, this budget can be allocated to develop other sectors, such as education and health care, offering fulfilling lives to people. However, if all employees are elderly, this can contribute to staying behind the innovation. It is undeniable that older generations have difficulty in managing technology, and they think in a conventional way. The company may, consequently, face some challenges because of a lack of creativity. In conclusion, age-discrimination laws impact on the efficiency of work in campaigns and are financially beneficial, even though they may have negative impact in some ways in business.