The role of education is to prepare children for the modern world. Schools should cut subjects such as arts and music out of the curriculum so that children can focus on subject such as information technology. To what extent do you agree?

Modern society expects children to learn skills related to technology at school. Some people argue that schools should not include arts and music in their curriculum, instead, they should prioritise information technology for young students. I strongly disagree with this statement and believe that children should learn both arts and music in school in order to develop their critical thinking and personal growth. The primary reason for schools to teach arts and science at school is that it broadens children's minds and develops critical thinking. Arts and music allow students to express their freedoms through critical thinking, and showcase their talents through creative arts. A study conducted by Cambridge University shows that students with extracurricular activities excel in academic achievements than those who do not choose these courses. Therefore, schools should include arts and music in their curriculum in order to assist children to reach their potential. In addition, Modern society does not entirely focus on information technology, in fact, artists and musicians are still highly valued in many societies. Musicians and artists showcase their talents, earning extravagant revenue through high performances. In 2025, the most influential people in the world, for instance, are from the music industry. Hence, teaching these courses in school not only ensures personal development but also increases future employability. In conclusion, although information technology has become an essential part of the modern world, I still, believe that arts and music play a crucial part in developing children's critical thinking, freedom of expression and flexible employability.