Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even during the holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Some employers believe that staff should expect to be contacted frequently, including during holiday seasons. While this offers some benefits in the workplace, it also introduces certain downsides. This essay argues that the the negative impact of contacting employees all the time outweigh its advantage, especially in terms of the stress which it induces. On the one hand, reachable staffs help the higher management to closely supervise the job and ensure that it is done without errors. Moreover, the communication is done in two ways and the staffs are free to ask any questions and seek guidance to the their supervisor. Not only that this shows the boss is reliable, but it also provides security for the higher management as they can keep an eye on their staffs' work. Therefore, constantly reaching out to staffs is beneficial to avoid unnecessary mistakes that might be done by the workers. On the other hand, consecutively contacting the employees, even during their offdays, can inflict anxiety and sense of insecurity to them. For instance, having managers reaching out and check on their staffs' work too frequently may drive the employee to think that the managers distrust them to truly work on their own. Consequently, if it happens in the long run, this micromanaging behavior will increase the amount of pressure in the workplace. As a result, managers with this tendency induces unnecessary stress to the employees. To summarise, although there is a benefit of contacting the staffs very frequently, the disadvantage still outweighs it.