Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views,, and give your opinion.

Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. It is considered by some the best way to decrease crime is to give longer prison sentences, while others say that there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. In my opinion, I consider that alternative ways are efficient methods due to avoiding prison overcrowding. On the one hand, some people think that if the crime is more serious, the prison is an appropriate punishment and have a big role in deters violence. To more clarify, offences who commit in a sever violence, pose a threat to society and can lead to destructive results in their community, while they could be put into isolated prisons with extreme restrictions as a punishment, so there could be a decrease in the crime rate. Furthermore, prisons who are released from prison are less likely to re-offend for the fear which comes from prison. in other words, most prisoners witness a bad experience and face heavy regulations in these places, and it creates a feeling of fear among them therefore most of them do not commit delinquence to avoid going back to prison. On the other hand, it is often believed that substitutes ways to punish offenders could be a solution to prison overcrowding. To put it in other words nowadays prisons could not afford the cost of imprisonment and criminals maintenance due to overpopulation in these areas, thus these additional costs are prevented with alternative methods. Another reason is that other ways of punishment such as community service is a way to reform offenders.to make it clear, social service gives them a sense of productivity because they are required to clean streets or talk to school groups and these actions could make them to be positive so they reform their community. in conclusion, I believed that alternative punishments have more positive impact in decreasing offences because they prevent overcrowding in prisons.