Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of time for children and they think that their children should read only read serious educational books. What is your opinion?

Children are always encourages to read books. However, some parents are of the opinion that books of pleasure are a waste of time and their children should focus on only their academic books. I am against this notion as i believe there should be a balance between the two. On the one hand, it is imperative for children to have time to read for entertainment because it builds their creativity. As an instance, reading comic books or novels allows these children to imagine and explore diferent views of fiction, by doing so it builds their creativity which is necessary for the developing minds of children. More so, reading for entertainment develops their social life. For example, a child can make more friends with other kids who share the same interest with their type of novel or comics. On the other hand, the study of only academic books would intermittently boost a child's cognitive reasoning. As an illustration, by engaging in school quizes they develop their intelligence for better academic results. Progressively, the study of only academic books creates a competitive environment for these children as well because they would strive to be the best in class amongst their peers. Although, this would develop the child academically but it neglects the other areas which are important for a child's mental growth such as their social life, and their creativity. In conclusion, reading for academic books would only help in academic activities but it won't give the proper balance a child needs for proper development.