The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The most significant role of science should be to improve our quality of life. I strongly agree, advancement in science and technology should be reflected in people's life whether it's on their life expectancy or their comfort, otherwise advancement without a cause and effect would be a waste of resources. Historically the life expectancy was very less. There were higher children mortality rate because of diseases, that today has reduced significantly, because of the advancement in medical field. The diseases that were referred to as life threatening are now easily curable. Furthermore, almost all the gadgets invented had a purpose of improving our living conditions. In old ages, people use to travel by horses or on feet, which was uncomfortable and time consuming. This resulted in the creation of airplane, because of which the travelling time has been reduced exponentially. A person could now commute to the other part of the world relatively quickly. On the contrary, it would be wasteful of resources if science is pushed for just exploration and donot have any evident benefits on human. For instance, for almost a decade, alot of countries have invested in the idea of colonization of other planets in the space. These mission are very expensive and we have not yet found any substantial benefit of that. It would much better if even half of that fund was invested in research for cancer cure, we might have a breakthrough in that. In conclusion, I believe it is more meaningful for science to have a purpose of improving human's lives. Otherwise, alot of time and energy would be wasted the research and development is directionless.