Some people think that you can learn about the culture of different places by travelling to them. Other people think that you can learn just as much as about these places from reading books and watching travel documentaries about them. Discuss both the view and give your opinion. Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an ongoing debate regarding the best ways to learn about different cultures and traditions. While some people believe that travelling to different places provides cultural knowledge, others claim that they can be learned by watching documentaries, and reading books. In my opinion, I agree with the former view, as it provides real-time experiences. This essay will discuss both views and my opinion in detail with examples.  On the one hand, it is believed that travelling encourages people to learn different customs. This is because when visiting different places, people have an opportunity to meet and interact with locals, which in turn provides valuable insights into their local traditions. In addition, during such visits, folks also learn about their local norms, and laws, which makes them understand how lifestyles are different around the world. This practical experience cannot be gained by watching visuals on television, or reading travel blogs. As an example, a famous traveller in India, spent his lifetime travelling to cities around the world to enrich his cultural knowledge with personal experiences. On the other hand, advocates believe that such knowledge can be gained by reading books or watching travel videos. There are may travel blogs and videos inform us about new places and lifestyles, but those informations are very limited, and in many cases cannot be fully exposed as there are certain limitations. Although it saves money and time, people don't value the info unless they personally experience it. For instance, in South Africa, certain religions and customs are not exposed to public according to their local law. In conclusion, although there are different opinions on gaining knowledge about various cultures, in my opinion, I believe that practical experience helps to retain information for a long period and such experiences cannot outrun by watching videos or reading books.