Some people believe that climate change has the greatest effect on people’s way of life. Others believe the economy of the region has the greatest effect. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people think that changes in the weather affects peoples way of living, while some think it is the economy of the area. I believe, both these aspects contribute to the lifestyle of its inhabitants. Weather encourages the choices in food and clothing, while better economy raises the standard of living of its people. Climate is the primary factor for a nations customs and culture. To put this into prespective, a study was made in the countries that are close to the equator. Asian countries, like India and Sri Lanka, that fall on the equator were recorded to have most vegetarians. This was a result of an ample amount of green produced in their highly fertile lands, due to good rain and sunlight in these areas. Another good example, is Russians food and clothing habits. People mostly eat meat, as the crops cannot survive such extreme temperatures. In addition, the clothes worn are also completely different. Where Indians wear light cotton clothes, Russians choose heavy warm clothes to keep away the harsh winter frost. On the other hand, wealth of the land also decides the living conditions. One of the greatest examples, is the United State of America. Before the World War II, most of the Americans were homeless and lived in slums, with not enough funds for food or housing. With a major turn in their economy brought in the 2nd World War, the living conditions changed. Now, there are more employment opportunities, providing good income. This has ultimately led to a superior lifestyle. And today, the USA is a superpower. This proves that, with increase in the wealth of a country, there is a change brought into the lives of their citizens. To summarise, I strongly believe that both, money and the weather of a particular region shapes the living conditions of its occupants. If managed with precision, these factors can change the nations identity and its status in the world.