Some people believe zoos are good places for people to learn about animals. Other people believe animals belong in nature and it is wrong to keep them in zoos. What do you think? Explain, giving specific reasons for your choice.

While some people argue that the best place to learn about animals is Zoos, others argue that animals should not be kept in enclosures, they must live in their own habitat, like forests. In my opinion, I agree with the latter view because animals thrive better in a natural environment than keeping them in closed enclosures. This essay will discuss my views in detail with relevant examples. To begin with, wild animals should live in their natural habitat to exhibit their own behaviour. This is mainly because, hunting and grazing are the primary habits of animals provided with proper conditions for them to survive, whereas in Zoos, the conditions are not suitable for survival. Mostly we watch animals sitting on a concrete floor with no light, trees or even grass, looking so depressed and stressful. Moreover, people cannot learn much about their habitats from these conditions as they look tired, which upsets people and makes them feel uncomfortable. For instance, a recent report revealed that lions and tigers are seen as pets as they stay calm in their small cages, which makes children forget that they are wild animals. Secondly, animals look active when they live in natural places. In other words, Zoos offer small spaces, which prevent them from walking or moving around, whereas in the outdoors, animals often spend time hunting and chasing their prey, thereby they can lead a long and healthy life. In addition, every species should belong to its own habitat where its characteristics can be better observed and learned rather than placing them in a controlled environment. As an example, wild wildlife photographer confessed that the aggressiveness of a Tiger can be better captured when they hunt in a natural environment rather than being provided with food in cages. In conclusion, although people think that cages are the best places to learn about animals, I believe that conditions in Zoos do not provide a real learning about those species as they do not exhibit their own behaviours. In my opinion, they belong to nature where they can thrive better in the natural environment by showing their own characteristics, and natural behaviour.