In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

First world countries continue to improve their life expectancy rates with technological advancement and medical research. This essay will examine the challenges of this development for people and society, before suggesting strategies for lowering the effects of an elderly population buldge. While individuals in the developed nations are happy about the potential of living longer, the authorities worry about the policy implications of this possibility, especially the rising demand for health and aged care resources. Older people require specialised medical consultations and everyday logistical support, but such services are relatively costly. Australia, for example, spends nearly 4 billion dollars per year on the aged care sector alone, but many elderly individuals still remain at the doldrums, failing to access basic services. This shows that the demand for adult care is higher than the supply. Despite the problems outlined above, there is still room to effectively support the elderly without constraining the health budget. One way of doing so would be to hire skilled workers from developing countries since they are cheaper, less demanding, dedicated, and professional in their work. For instance, during the COVID-19 era, the UK government quickly moved to issue temporary visas to African nationals, to come and fill the labour gap in health care; many aged people were either losing their lives or suffering from the effects of the pandemic due to insufficient care. Bringing overseas carers did not only improve the quality of life for the elderly, but also helped the government to save money. In conclusion, even with the potentially gruesome impact of ageing populations in the developed world, several measures can still be taken by rich states to create conditions for this group to receive adequate help while maintaining financial prudence. This essay has demonstrated that tapping into skilled migrants from developing countries can be a sustainable solution.